Beauty · Lifestyle · Make up · Subscription box

BIRCHBOX REVIEW – ITS ALL IN THE DETAILS – MAY 2017

Today’s post is on the May 2017 Birchbox, I’m sorry that it’s a little late given we are now in June and my June box has arrived (review coming soon) but I’ve been super busy and am only just getting round to reviewing these boxes. This is the first Birchbox that I’ve ever bought and I was really tempted as they had a buy one get one free offer in May.

BIRCHBOX BENEFITSNEW

This is a recent addition to Birchbox subscriptions it allows all subscribers and VIP subscribers to a range of offers such as: free delivery when you review a box, £5 voucher when you refer a friend, special birthday offers and much more.

PACKAGINGMARBLE AND ROSE GOLD

I’m really into the whole Rose Gold, Pink and Marble details at the moment and when I saw that this box followed the trend I was so happy. The box is made of card so once you’ve finished with it you can just recycle it. The box is quite small which I liked because it wont take up too much room to store and it is just big enough for all the items.

MARSK MINERAL EYESHADOWVANILLA FROSTING – FULL SIZE RRP £14.49

There was a choice of having this in either Fifty Shades which is a Smoky Grey colour or Vanilla Frosting which I chose. I went for the lighter shade as I don’t have many lighter colours. Its a really pretty colour eye-shadow and I think you could even use it as a hi-lighter if you wanted to as it is a very fine powder with a shimmer to it. I don’t usually use powder eye-shadows because I worry about getting them everywhere but there are holes when you open the lid so you don’t have to worry too much about getting it everywhere.

DOUCCE PUNK VOLUMIZER MASCARATRAVEL SIZE – FULL SIZE RRP £18 (BIRCHBOX EXCLUSIVE)

until I received this travel sized mini I had never heard of Doucce and so had to try out the mascara immediately, it promises to add length and volume and it doesn’t disappoint. I think I have finally found the perfect mascara that makes my lashes look like falsies without me actually needing them.

The packaging is bold and simple in black, red and silver and is as eye-catching as it makes your lashes. I didn’t expect the wand itself to be very big but it is pretty large, I thought it may make application difficult but it was as easy as any other mascara to apply.

SPECTRUM COLLECTIONS C06 TULIP EYE CONTOUR BRUSHFULL SIZE £4.99 (BIRCHBOX EXCLUSIVE)

I have always wanted to try Spectrum collection’s brushes and when this one was inside my May box it was a dream come true. In Rose Gold and pink it really is so pretty that I almost didn’t want to use it! The brush fibres are not only synthetic but oh so soft so no furry friends were harmed in the making and with the tulip shape fibres it is perfect for applying all over colour or defining around the lash line.

KUESHI HAIR MASK SHINE & VOLUMETRAVEL SIZE – FULL SIZE RRP £10.50

As a curly haired girl I am always on the lookout for a hydrating and good smelling hair mask that I don’t have to leave on for hours to get results as I am always on the go. I hadn’t heard of this brand before Birchbox but I am pleased with the product, it takes just over 3 minutes to achieve smooth hydrated curls that smell like a dream. 

CAUDALIE VINE[ACTIV] GLOW ACTIVATING ANTI-WRINKLE SERUMTRAVEL SIZE – FULL SIZE RRP £36

id like to point out at this stage that I am 21 and that until this point I have never used an anti-wrinkle cream so don’t have any previous experiences of using one to compare this one too. However I can advise that this one smells incredible, it isn’t overly thick and seems to melt into the skin and adds an instant glow when applied directly to the skin. Its recommended use is every morning and every evening for optimum results. I am lucky enough to not have any fine lines or wrinkles yet but I have always been told that prevention is always better than a solution, maybe this box is trying to tell me something!

OVERALL VIEW

For my first ever beauty box subscription I am impressed, the box came within a few days of my order and was a reasonable price of £10 plus £2.95 P&P which compared to some of the boxes about is very low cost. As mentioned earlier I really love the packaging and that the products fit in with the theme too. I am really happy that I purchased this box as it has allowed me to try out brands and products that I wouldn’t usually buy myself without having to purchase the full sized product to decide if I like it or not. If you think about it the cost of both full sized products is more than the whole box and P&P itself so providing you are getting to try new products and liking the majority of them I think it is a really good deal as you may find something you love like I have.

WWW.BIRCHBOX.CO.UK

Thank you for reading this review, as usual all comments welcome. Please follow and like for more like this.

Happy reading,

Love Saff x

One thought on “BIRCHBOX REVIEW – ITS ALL IN THE DETAILS – MAY 2017

  1. Oooh, I’ve been wondering about Birchbox for a while, but they look like a good selection of products, not your usual lip gloss in a hideous shade! I’ve heard a lot of good things about Caudalie so would really love to try them out!

    Thanks for posting! xx Sophia x http//sophiawhitham.co.uk

    Like

Leave a Reply

