2017 looks · Beauty · Bronzer · Colour · Hilighter · Life · Lifestyle · Looks · Make up · Makeup · New · NYX COSMETICS · Pink · Spring · Style · Summer · Uncategorized

NYX Make up haul – Spring & Summer edition 🌸

Today’s post is on my most recent NYX haul. I’ve chosen a mixture of products to tell you about which all vary a little, keep reading to find out more…

Hot Singles Eye-shadow – HS68 – FLUSTERED NERVEUX £3.50

NYX EYESHADOW

I’ve been looking for this colour for a long time, I saw a similar colour in the MAC range but wanted a lower cost version. This one is the perfect burgundy, I can’t wait to for autumn as it is such an autumnal colour. It’s great when you want to add something that little bit different on a night out, if you’re like me and love wearing black it can change up the look nicely overdoing. The colour is build-able so you can be as bold as you like (or not) and has a subtle shimmery tone which is pretty. The packaging is so cute as there’s a little bow on the bit where you open and close it, I’m all about the details…

FIRST BASE – FBPS01 – Primer Spray £7

NYX PRIMER SPRAY

Words can’t describe how much of a lifesaver this product is. I’ve tried many different primers and none can compare to this one. I love that you can simply cleanse, moisturise your face and spray this straight on. You don’t need to worry about blending it in to your skin or putting too much on as it has a spray applicator so you only need a couple of sprays to cover your face and ta-da you are ready to apply the rest of your make-up it really is that simple. Its lightweight on the skin and even works on combination skin like mine.

HD Finishing Powder – HDFP01 – TRANSLUCENT £9

NYX HD FINISHING POWDER

I was torn between getting this in the pressed or loose powder and went for the pressed as I’m pretty clumsy and would probably spill half of the loose powder everywhere. This powder comes with me almost everywhere, it’s small enough to take out and perfect for those too shiny days. It doesn’t add any colour so whatever shade foundation / bronzer etc. that you are wearing you needn’t worry about the colour being altered. I find it particularly useful for setting concealer before applying foundation otherwise they smudge into each other a little too much for my liking. I think this will last me a long time because you don’t need to use much of it at all and I sometimes use it on bare skin when I’m a little shiny.

Baked Blush, Illuminator and Bronzer – BBL09 – JOURNEY £7

NYX BAKED BLUSH

When I first tried this I wasn’t sure if I liked it as I don’t tend to use blush often. I love that it triples as a blush, Illuminator and a bronzer as you get three products for the price of one! My favourite way to use this one is as an Illuminator, I have a white/yellow one which is nice but the shimmery pink tone in this one which gives you a subtle glow. It comes in a few different shades but I chose this one because it’s subtle and didn’t want an in your face colour as I prefer the more natural look. This one follows in the packaging theme of having a little bow to open and close it and I really love that it goes through the range.

Liquid Suede Cream Lipstick – LSCL21 – BROOKLYN THORN and LSCL07 – SANDSTORM £7

BROOKLYN THORNSANDSTORM

First of all I need to say that I love brown/ neutral lip colours so for any of you who have read my posts in the past you may see a theme appearing here. Brooklyn Thorn is quite dark, I bought it when I had purple hair and it clashed a little so I didn’t wear it, but now I have dark hair again it goes really well. I’d definitely recommend the colour for those with dark hair as it’s quite a bold colour unless you’re really confident then obviously you can wear it whatever colour your hair is.

Sandstorm is my favourite of the range so far, it’s a colour you can wear everyday and every occasion. I don’t think will clash with anything because it is so natural. I really like it and will probably pick this over my satin lipsticks in future as it lasts so much longer and doesn’t dry your lips out plus it’s so much easier to apply!

I bought the NYX Liquid Suede lip colours is because I was looking for a matte velvet look lip colour that was affordable and easy to apply and I’d heard so many good things about the Liquid Suede and Lingerie lip colours that when I last visited boots I just had to try them. I am really impressed with the range of colours these are in, there are almost too many to choose from. I will definitely buy some other colours in future but thought I would go for two neutral colours as I was more likely to wear those than brighter colours. The applicator is super soft it almost looks furry but makes for super easy application with nearly no mess (I’ve almost mastered it) and the lip colour itself is long lasting which is amazing because I don’t know about you but I’m bad enough at applying them before I go on a night out but after a couple of drinks there’s no chance they are going on nicely.

I’m so pleased that NYX products are available in stores so you can have use the testers before buying to make sure you like the items although it does tempt me to buy so much more as they are great quality and really affordable. If you are someone like me who doesn’t wear a lot of make up but likes to wear it when they go out without feeling like you are emptying your pockets this is the range for you, plus they are cruelty free which is an added extra for any of you who like to keep an eye out for these kinds of brands.

I hope you liked reading my post, when I add to my collection I will write another post on the products. Please like this post if you enjoyed reading and make sure to follow me for more like this. I would love to hear your thoughts on the products or any that you recommend so please share.

Thanks for reading,

love Saff x

12 thoughts on “NYX Make up haul – Spring & Summer edition 🌸

  1. These are great picks! I really like the Liquid Suede I have (I chose the shade Soft Spoken) and I love the Soft Matte Lip Cremes as well. Can I ask what your skin type is? I keep looking at primer waters but haven’t taken the plunge as I don’t know if they will be good for my skin type. Does it make your makeup last longer?

    Beccah xx
    thehonestolive.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww thank you! I love them, I haven’t tried the Matte creams yet, are they much different to the Liquid Suede? Of course, my skin is a bit of combination, some areas are really dry, some are oily and some are normal. I really love the NYX one and i do find it helps keep my make-up in place because my face tends to get oilier through the day and I don’t notice it really when I use the primer.

      Hope this helps,
      Saff xx

      Like

      1. They aren’t a whole lot different in my experience. I definitely prefer the applicator of the SMLC, and it has a frangrance that smells like sweets which I love but others dislike.

        Beccah xx
        thehonestolive.com

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

