Confidence · Fitness · Health · Healthy · Life · Lifestyle · Lifestyle · New · Skin · Thoughts · Tips · Uncategorized · Wellbeing

Lets talk body confidence – Stretch marks

I thought I’d write about stretch marks, a bit of an unusual topic for me to write about but it’s something that is pretty personal and affects SO many of us.

It seems like we are trying to create a flawless version of ourselves which is simply unobtainable, trying to look like pictures we see in magazines, Instagram, Twitter and everywhere else… Social media is there to help connect us with the wider community in order to make us happier but we are so focused on portraying the perfect life where ‘everyday is sunny’ that we forget about the things that really matter. I don’t know about you but I rarely see people post about how they’ve had food they didn’t like or done something that they shouldn’t have because we like to be thought of in a good way, but all that leads to is people aspiring to have the perfect body, hair, make-up and life when the truth is perfection doesn’t exist. Family and friends are so much more important (in my eyes) and it doesn’t matter how you look to others as long as you are happy and healthy both physically and mentally.

Stretch marks on my inner leg

I believe that we need to realise that we are never going to look exactly like someone else, or have their life and why would we want to? We are all so different and the world would be such a boring place if we were all the same, so please be you. Just remember that so many pictures are edited to make skin not have stretch marks, blemishes, scars, spots or ‘imperfections’ but those ‘imperfections’ are what make us unique, they define us as individuals and they tell a story about your body that is like no other.

Stretch marks on my hip

I totally get it if you you’re thinking that I’m just saying all of this and that the so called ‘imperfections’ I listed earlier are ugly, unattractive or whatever negative word you have to say about them, but they shouldn’t affect your self worth or define you. Stretch marks are one of the most problematic ones of all, they are so hard to get rid of and never seem to completely disappear… trust me I know this because I have them, so so many of them. The majority of my body has stretch marks in one place or another, some are fairly new and some are years old and I would be lying if I said I liked them because I really don’t, however after having them since I was about 15 years old I’ve learnt that they are a part of my body which will probably be here to stay. Don’t worry as over time they will fade and eventually be barely noticeable, you can help your skin by making sure you moisturise and use Bio Oil when fresh ones appear.

Stretch marks on the back of my leg

There is a common idea that stretch marks are only for ‘fat’ people and that ‘thin’ people don’t get them but this is so untrue. It doesn’t matter what size you are you can get them, a lot of people get them during puberty or pregnancy as the skin can stretch quicker than it is ready to and you can also get them from losing weight too quickly. Luckily for some people they will never get stretch marks and others will have so many, but in all honesty I don’t think there is much you can do to prevent them apart from living a healthy balanced lifestyle, moisturising and using Bio Oil in the case of any new ones appearing.

Please don’t let stretch marks have a negative effect on your confidence like I did for way too many years. It’s not worth it and if people are low enough to judge you or make you feel uncomfortable about them then they really need to mature. Most of the time people even realise if you have any, like with mine I know they are there, but unless I point them out to anyone I don’t think they would even notice. I stopped wearing shorts and crop tops when I first had them and wore tights and jeans whenever possible because I was so convinced that people would notice them and judge me. I even went as far as rubbing raw potato on them as I read somewhere that it helped, please don’t waste your time doing this as it really doesn’t! 

Don’t let these silly marks have a negative effect on what you wear and what you do because they don’t mean anything, as long as you are comfortable that’s the main thing. I know its silly but I like to refer to mine as tiger stripes as it makes me feel better and this may sound hypocritical as I have been telling you not to let them bother you but the thing is sometimes they will make you feel bad but you just need to remember that they are nothing, they don’t make you a ugly or unattractive they are just patterns on your skin just like piercings and tattoos don’t make people weirdos, they just make you you. I thought that I would share some pictures of my own stretch marks throughout this post to show you what some of mine are like, they are pretty visible in the photos but are so much less visible when you aren’t looking for them. 

I hope this post makes you feel better about them if you have them too and if not I hope it makes you think twice about judging those who do have stretch marks.

Thanks for reading!

Love Saff x

2 thoughts on “Lets talk body confidence – Stretch marks

  1. I have stretch marks. Some are from being overweight, but most of them are from puberty. They used to bother me, but now I don’t care about them. There are so many things that are more important than having flawless skin. And what’s the point in worrying about something I can do nothing (or very little) about?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think you are totally right, so many of us have them and there is nothing we can do about them once we do. Although we may not be happy we should definitely not let it negatively affect us. I used to get so upset about having them and would never wear shorts or anything and now I think if anyone is going to comment or make me feel bad about it then shame on them.

      Like

Leave a Reply

