Fitness · Food · Growth · Healthy · Lifestyle · New · Pancake · Protein · Recipe · Wellbeing

My Protein – Protein pancake recipe πŸ₯ž

I thought I would share with everyone my protein pancake recipe as I’ve many requests for it and I just cant get enough myself (I could eat them every single day). They are super tasty, filling and are the perfect treat to start your day or post workout.

Ingredients: (per person – makes about 4 small pancakes)

  • 1 scoop and a half of protein powder (about 60 grams) or 40 grams oats
  • 1 mashed ripe banana
  • 1 medium egg
  • 1 teaspoon of lemon juice – fresh or bottled
  • Coconut oil/ vegetable/ sunflower oil (enough to stop pancakes from sticking to the pan)

I use MYPROTEIN protein powder – Impact Diet Whey in Double chocolate flavour. I use this brand because I always have and like their flavours, however I think it would work with any type of protein powder. If you are like me and don’t really like bananas I wouldn’t worry as you can’t really taste them at all, if you could then I wouldn’t eat them myself as I dont really like them, you also can’t taste the lemon it just helps make the pancakes thick and fluffy!

How to make:

1. Peel the banana and mash it up with a fork into a paste.

2. Add the protein powder and egg and mix until combined.

My protein pancake recipe
Adding the lemon juice

3. Add the lemon juice and mix one last time.

4. Heat up a little oil in a frying pan, if you heat up too much you can always pop it in a mug and use it for the rest of the pancakes. I tend to use coconut oil as it adds a little flavour.

5. When hot turn the hob down to medium (burnt pancakes? No thank you).

6. Spoon some mixture into the pan to make 1 pancake (see my picture for a guide), don’t be alarmed if the mixture is quite thick as mine usually is and that’s how I find it works best, use your spoon to make the mix into a circular shape.

My protein pancake recipe
Suggested size (my pan has seen better days)

7. Let it cook for about 20 seconds or until it doesn’t stick to the pan.

8. Turn over the pancake using a spatula and repeat (step 7) for other side. When cooked move onto a plate and repeat steps 1-8 again.

My protein pancake recipe
Happy uneven pancake stack

Now its time to add your topping(s) my favourites are:

  • Melted dark chocolate, 1 tsp Peanut butter and a tbs of Greek yoghurt
  • Nutella and Strawberries – such a dream need I say more?
  • Reese’s Peanut butter cups and Greek yoghurt

My protein pancake recipe

    There are SO many options depending on what you like so let your imagination go wild. These could be eaten for breakfast, an after-workout snack or whenever you fancy, and you can make them as healthy or unhealthy as you like by changing around your toppings…

    Other topping ideas:

    • Blueberries and Greek yoghurt
    • Maple/ Golden syrup
    • Ice cream – for when you’re feeling naughty
    • Lemon and Sugar
    • Greek yoghurt, nuts and raisins

    Plus many many more there really is no limit, you can change your flavour of protein to vanilla, strawberry, plain or well anything really! I just really like MY PROTEIN chocolate protein at the moment.

    The best part of this is eating the pancakes which I did just before I wrote this and let me tell you they were delicious and so filling, now I feel ready for the day ahead (and not sharing them).

    If you love this recipe and try it out please feel free to tag me in your pictures so I can see your creations @saffydixon instagram @saffydixon twitter.

    My protein – Impact diet whey 

    Happy munching!

    Love Saff x

    4 thoughts on “My Protein – Protein pancake recipe πŸ₯ž

    Leave a Reply

    