Aussie · Beauty · Colour · Colouring · Conditioner · Fashion · Growth · Hair · Hair style · Herbal Essences · Holiday · Life · Shampoo · Style · Stylist · TIGI · Uncategorized

Hair care – products shampoo & conditioner salon v supermarket

*All links are at the bottom of the page*

Today I thought I would do a post about salon products versus supermarket products (shampoo and conditioner in particular) as I often get asked what products I recommend and for me it varies on a few things:

  • What I want it to do
  • The product 
  • How long it lasts
  • Can I get it in my local shop or do I need to order it
  • Does it smell good (not the most important thing but no one wants bad smelling hair right?)

I thought I’d come up with my most recommended  products with all of these things in mind and a product that I was recommended and what I think of it.

TIGI Catwalk – Fashionista Brunette Twin Set – Shampoo 750ml & Conditioner 750ml ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2

TIGI fashionista shampoo
TIGI Fashionista

Cost: £14.55 RRP: £35.75 (I paid 30 when I bought mine)

I love this product hence the rating, it smells good, makes my hair shiny and soft, the shampoo lathers up really well and it has a toner in it to help maintain my brunette colour. This makes it perfect in my opinion for anyone with colour treated hair. The bottles are so big that they last a really long time and I’ve had mine nearly 4 months with just under half of each bottle left! 

The reason I haven’t given five stars is because of the toner, if you don’t rinse the bath/shower straight after use it leaves a brown kind of colour which can stain. Otherwise I think it’s great because it lasts a long time for the price you pay, does what it says it will, makes your hair smell and feel great and it is a salon brand meaning it’s more concentrated so you don’t need to use lots and lots of it to make sure you have clean hair.

Aussie Miracle Moist Shampoo 300ml and conditioner

AUSSIE Miracle Moist
AUSSIE Miracle Moist

Cost: £3 each RRP £3-4 each ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

As someone who is trained as a hairdresser I tend to stick to salon brands as they have less artificial silicone in them (the stuff that can make you look like you have dandruff if you use it for too long). However when I go on holiday I don’t like to take my usual products with me because I know I will be washing my hair so much that I will dry it out ( I just take some Argan oil instead). 

I always buy the Aussie miracle moist when travelling because it smells out of this world amazing and leaves my hair feeling pretty soft and clean. My boyfriend has decided he loves it so much that I have to have a set of it in the house even when we aren’t going away…

The only negatives to this product are that if I continually use it over a long period of time I start to flake and for a lover of black clothing it’s not really ideal, and because it’s not a salon brand I I use more shampoo to make sure my hair feels clean and a lot more conditioner to make my hair feel soft and then it doesn’t end up lasting me very long.

Overall for the price, ease to buy (can be bought in most supermarkets) and general results I really like the set.

Herbal Essences – Ignite my colour 400ml

Herbal Essences Ignite my colour
Herbal Essences Ignite my colour

Cost: £3 RRP: £3-4⭐️⭐️⭐️

I thought I would try this set as so many of my friends hair always smells so so good, when I asked them what shampoo and conditioner they used they recommended this set.  I picked it up in my local supermarket and was excited to go home and wash my hair (yes I’m the kind of person that just has to try things straight away) and I did exactly that. 

My findings were that yes my hair did smell really good, but it felt pretty dry and dull which for someone with really curly hair is not ideal. To be honest I won’t buy this product again because I simply didn’t like it, other people may love it, which great if you are one of those people but for me that’s not the case. I also noticed that It is recommended for coloured hair which would have been an added bonus had I continued to use the product.

💡 Top tip – Always shampoo your hair twice using a 10p sizes of shampoo (three times need be) and condition once makin sure to concentrate one the ends!

That’s all from me today, I’d love to hear your thoughts and comments and any recommendations if you have any.

Thanks for reading,

Saff x

TIGI fashionista twin set
AUSSIE MIRACLE MOIST
Herbal Essences – Ignite my colour

Leave a Reply

